Photo of Table Dining.

ABOUT THE FACULTY STAFF CLUB

The California Spanish Colonial building that houses the Faculty-Staff Club was originally constructed as the campus cafeteria and bookstore in 1931. Following World War II and with the advent of the G.I. Bill, the campus population outgrew its original physical plant. The bookstore was moved to a Quonset hut, and a walled patio was added to the “Caf” to serve hamburgers al fresco. The offices of the student government occupied the former bookstore space. When the Bookstore, East Commons, and Aztec Center were added to the campus during the late 1950s and early ’60s, President Love granted the faculty permission to use the vacated building as a faculty lounge-cafeteria and Senate Office. Then, on November 18, 1975, the Senate recommended and President Golding authorized the formation of the Faculty Club, a membership corporation. Original members paid an initiation fee and monthly dues to pay off the mortgage required for improvements, and with the start of fall semester 1978, the new club was fully operational.

Later adding Staff to its name, the club operated as its founders had envisaged: an independently managed central meeting place where faculty and staff worked and relaxed together. Unfortunately, the CSU funding crisis of the early ’90s severely affected the club when staff cutbacks and faculty retirements reduced club membership by a third. But with help from the University administration and Aztec Shops, its Board of Directors invested in a fin-de-si├Ęcle remodeling and refurbishing of the facility and entered into an energetic management agreement with Aztec Shops.

Today Faculty-Staff Club membership continues to grow amid dramatically improved facilities, meals, and services. Solvent and successful, the SDSU FSC is once again a hub for campus employees and their guests.

BOARD MEMBERS

Barry Hanan
President
Professor
Geological Science
bhanan@mail.sdsu.edu

Nathan Oestrich
Vice President
Professor
Charles W. Lasmen School of Accountancy
drno@sdsu.edu

Terry L. Williams
Treasurer
Director, Resource Management
SDSU College of Health and Human Services
terry.williams@mail.sdsu.edu

Sandra Bullock
Secretary
Employee Relations & Compliance Specialist
Office of Employee Relations and Compliance
sbullock@mail.sdsu.edu

Nancy Carmichael Stewart
SDSU Retirement Association Representative
nmcstewart@gmail.com

John Crockett
Senior Director, Sponsored Research Project
Development & Management
jcrockett@sdsu.edu

Davette Kawachi
Director for Resource Management
College of Business Administration
davette.kawachi@sdsu.edu

Patrick Papin
Professor
Physics
ppapin@mail.sdsu.edu

Kyle Sundqvist
Assistant Professor - Physics
ksundqvist@sdsu.edu

Raymond Moberly
Instructor - Mathematics, Aerospace Engineering
raymond.moberly@sdsu.edu